New to Amia: Where to Start!

All the other miscellaneous information you may need, such as DM information, spell changes, subrace information, etc.
Jes
I like dragons.

Post by Jes »

The Absolute Beginner

Nothing much could happen
Nothing we can't shake
Oh we're absolute beginners
With nothing much at stake

First of all, you need to think about what you want. Amia is not a World of Warcraft or Guild Wars clone. We have a somewhat older player community (generally speaking), and don't allow names such as "..||xxss-P0wnz0r-Drizzt-ssxx||..". On the other hand, we think that Amia has far more depth than the aforementioned games.

So, you are sure you want to play Amia. Grab a copy of Neverwinter Nights: Enhanced Edition from GOG or Steam. We have NWSync activated

The second step would be downloading our technically optional hands and feet pack. You don't need it to play but you might have to endure the default club hands if you do not use them. You can find the files here. This download also includes a readme with specific instructions for what to do with the files. Follow them carefully to make sure they work right.

Now it's time to play!

First Steps into Amia

And even though it’s moving forward
It’s just the right amount of awkward
And today you accidentally called me baby

We advise you to start with a human fighter if this is the first time you've played Neverwinter Nights at all. It's pretty straightforward. You don't have to bother with comparing the wiki and the changes we made to a lot of standard game mechanics, and you can take a few hits. Let's go for bread-and-butter: take longsword as your weapon, take at least 17 strength (always handy for carrying as much loot as possible), 13 dex and 13 int. This will make you a happy Weapon Master after a while.

You can obviously ignore this recommendation and make yourself a more exotic character with our selection of subraces.